“‘Under Western Eyes’ Revisited” Discussion Post

I found this reading to be an appropriate piece to end the our course on. Mohanty focuses much of the essay on the feminist solidarity or comparative feminist studies model which we saw roots of in This Bridge Called My Back last week. It also was pleasant to see the idea of intersectionality return from our very first class discussions and readings we had this semester. I liked how Mohanty expressed that merely looking at intersectionality still is not correct. Instead, a person had to look at both intersectionality and mutuality found in women across the globe. On another note, I was interested in the author’s discussion of the three different models of international feminist studies, however, as I was reading those sections I actually began to feel uncomfortable. While reading I realized I knew of courses described as “feminist-as-explorer” and “feminist-as-tourist” that are available at the Claremont Colleges. Even a place that we renown as enlightened and advanced has significant issues which need adjustment.

Leave a comment