“This Bridge Called My Back” Part 1 Discussion Post

A theme of internalization of oppression could be found throughout the excerpts of This Bridge Called My Back that we read for Tuesday’s class discussion. I most resonated with the example on page 32 looking at women as both the oppressed but also the oppressor.

“We women have a similar nightmare,for each of us in some way has been both oppressed and the oppressor. We are afraid to look at how we have failed each other. We are afraid to see how we have take the values of our oppressor into our hearts and turned them against ourselves and one another. We are afraid to admit how deeply ‘the man’s’ words have been ingrained in us.”

This passage reminds me of another idea I saw in the beginning of the reading, the idea of division between women. In Genny Lim’s “Wonder Woman,” I see there being an underlying question of if there is a basic unity between all women. Lim questions why women are divided, why they build “…walls that tear them [women] down?”

Leave a comment