“Queer Aztlan” Discussion Post

I found this reading a wonderful continuation of the discussion started by Gloria Anzaldua in Borderlands which we finished on Tuesday. Moraga focuses on the intersection of the Chicano movement and gay and lesbian movements in the past half a century, then moving to speaking on indigenous groups and the idea of sovereignty. I enjoyed the entire reading, I thought it was an extremely captivating piece of literature. However, I think I liked the last half a bit more. I really enjoyed seeing her discuss lesbian women and gay men in the Chicano community and how there needs to be a edited movement or push for inclusion of those individuals. She then connects those ideas, placing them in a greater idea and desire for Chicanos/Chicanas as a whole. Fear and exclusion should end. The Chicano community needs to collectively come together to work towards sovereignty, both internal and territorial sovereignty.

Leave a comment